Can Massage Help Relieve Your Cold Symptoms?

noseYou wake up in the morning sore and stiff because you were in bed all day yesterday with a cold. You then realize you have a massage schedule today. Aaahhh, that will  provide relief to your achy muscles and give you a brief hour of feeling good instead of feeling terrible.

Actually, getting a massage when you are sick with the flu or a cold is a bad idea. Depending on what stage of the illness you are in, the massage can send the virus zooming through your body by increasing your circulation. Maybe you might get better faster, but it is more likely you will feel a lot worse. Also, when you go to a massage with a cold you put your practitioner at risk to catch your cold.

I was a child care provider for many years and would often get sick from being around the kids and babies. While I am not a doctor and can not prescribe cold treatments, I have found these natural remedies to be quite helpful.

Echinacea ~ This wonderful super herb stimulates the immune system and promotes T-cell activation. Remember when this herb was first available? It was in a horrible tasting tincture. Yuck. Some still swear that is the best way to take it but there are many other forms now found like tablets, capsules, teas…

Vitamin C ~ My favorite source of Vitamin C is Emer-gen C. Yummy powdered drink that helps hydrate you as well as give you lots of Vitamin C.

Zinc ~This is great to help with sinus type colds. Not so great for nausea. Be careful how much you take.

Drink lots of fluids ~ Water, herbal tea or any other clear liquid is best. They help replace fluids lost during mucus production or fever. Avoid alcohol and caffeine, which can cause dehydration, and cigarette smoke, which can aggravate your symptoms.

Chicken soup or Pho ~ The warmth of these soups helps to move that mucus out of your nose and on to your kleenex and provides nourishing hydration.

 Get lots of rest ~ Stay home from work, keep warm and sleep as much as you can. Your body needs all of its strength to heal and you reduce the risk of infecting others.

Gargling with warm salt water  ~ Not sure why this helps. It might be that the salt draws out the inflammation. Doing this several times a day can really help relieve your sore throat.

Saline nasal drops or Neti pot ~ Either one of these methods can help relieve nasal congestion. The drops are found at most local drug stores. Be careful when using the Neti pot and follow the provided directions. If you are not careful you can get water in your ears.

Thanks for reading and feel free to share remedies you might have in the comment section. PJ Harris, LMP http://www.pjharris.com/

15 responses to “Can Massage Help Relieve Your Cold Symptoms?

  1. Those are great suggestions…I especially LOVE eating Pho when I am feeling sniffly; so delicious & comforting!

  2. Kay, I like to put that chili sauce on it. That really cleans out my sinuses!

  3. Thanks for clearing up that question. I always wondered…

  4. Yes, Jala Neti is wonderful. Personally I use it twice a day and that is a great way to keep the colds away naturally. Then if I do ever get a cold, I up the anti and do it many times a day which reduces the length and severity of the cold

  5. I’ve heard that taking a cold shower can help trigger your body’s immune system when you get the first symptoms of a cold, although I’d personally prefer a long soak in a hot bath!

  6. I’ve heard that echinacea can work miracles if you take it when you first start to get the early symptoms of a cold

  7. Fine post on the question of whether or not to get a massage when your are sick with a flu or cold. Good information.

  8. there is no “information” here. just one person’s opinion. my opinion is that massage help me recover. i feel sicker immediately following the massage, but i think that it decreases the total recovery time. of course, that’s just my opinion.

  9. Actually, Jed, 2 people’s opinions. I am a massage therapist for 14 years now and agree 100% with this therapist’s advice. Who is the professional here? Sick? Stay home. (spa-curious.com)

  10. It is only common sense to avoid places like spas and hairsalons and massage therapist offices if you are sick. Or at least speak to your therapist to get their advice and/or make arrangements to accommodate the situation. This used to be commonly known and proper practice. I’m not sure why it has gone by the way side, these days. People have either become less consciensious, or more selfish and just don’t care. It has nothing to do with whether its good for you or not, it has to do with whether its good for the others around you. When you enter a small enclosed room with your therapist and you are sick, their chances of contracting your ailment are significantly high. If they do catch it, then they run the same risk of passing it to their other clients. There is no good descision to make for the therapist when this happens. Worst case, they continue to work and further spread the illness. Best case, they have to take time off work, and the vast majority of therapists do not get sick pay. Either way, they will be carrying the illness back home to expose their families. Stay home, isolate yourself, get better, be considerate and don’t be part of the problem.

  11. Howdy! I could have sworn I’ve visited this website before but after going through a few of the posts I realized it’s new to me.
    Nonetheless, I’m definitely pleased I discovered it and I’ll be book-marking it and checking back
    regularly!

  12. Excellent way of telling, and pleasant piece of
    writing to get facts concerning my presentation subject, which i am going to present in academy.

  13. I had a massage and with a cold and now I feel horrible! Any suggestions on how to ease the “toxic overload” I am experiencing? How long will the feeling worse last? :(

  14. Yes! Finally someone writes about smoking cessation.

  15. Today, I went to the beach front with my children. I found a sea shell and
    gave it to my 4 year old daughter and said “You can hear the ocean if you put this to your ear.” She placed the
    shell to her ear and screamed. There was a hermit crab inside
    and it pinched her ear. She never wants to go back!
    LoL I know this is totally off topic but I had to tell someone!

Leave a Reply

