15 Quick Tips for Icing Injuries

In the spirit of the weather turning cold lets talk ice. It is one of the most effective treatments of injuries such as strains and sprains. We massage practitioners emphasize this until the cows come home. You hear us do this because it works. It makes all the difference in the world on how fast you will recover. Here are some ice tips:

  1. It is most important to use ice within 48 hours of injury.
  2. Do not use heat within 72 hours for it will promote swelling.
  3. If you use heat after 72 hours and you still have swelling, be sure to end with a session of ice.
  4. Use for up to but no longer than 10 minutes for thin tissue like ankles, feet, hands, wrists, elbow.
  5. Use for up to but no longer than 15 minutes for medium thick tissue like shoulders, mid back, neck, knees.
  6. Use for up to but no longer than 20 minutes for thick tissue like gluts, thighs, and calves.
  7. Make sure to leave 45 minutes to an hour between icing sessions.
  8. Let ice rest on injury keeping a thin layer of cloth between you and the ice.
  9. You can also massage an injury with ice. You don’t need a cloth layer but don’t let the ice rest on one spot.
  10.   Homemade ice pack option 1 is freeze a Ziploc baggie or hot water bottle filled halfway with 1 part rubbing alcohol and 2 parts water.
  11.   Homemade ice pack option 2 is a bag of frozen corn or peas.
  12.   Homemade ice pack option 3 is freeze a wet cloth the size of your choosing.
  13.   Homemade ice pack option 4 is a little paper cup with frozen water to perform ice massage on an injury.
  14.   When you are icing a limb, if possible, keep it above your heart while icing.
  15.   Any concerns make sure to call your health service provider!!

I encourage my Seattle Treatment massage clients to ice and have found the ones who do achieve better results. Thank you, PJ Harris LMP. http://www.pjharris.com/

12 responses to “15 Quick Tips for Icing Injuries

  1. With the tips you gave, treating injuries is made simple. I usually deal with clients having sprains and strains and I too do the same thing for them.

  2. I just like the valuable info you supply to your

    articles. I’ll bookmark your blog and test again here

    regularly. I’m reasonably certain

    I will learn plenty of new stuff right right

    here! Best of luck for the next!

  3. Hmm is anyone else experiencing problems with the pictures on
    this blog loading? I’m trying to figure out if its a problem on my end or if it’s the blog.
    Any responses would be greatly appreciated.

  4. If you are going for best contents like myself, just visit this site all the time
    because it provides quality contents, thanks

  5. Howdy! Do you know if they make any plugins to safeguard

    against hackers? I’m kinda paranoid about losing everything I’ve worked hard on.
    Any suggestions?

  6. Hello! I’m at work surfing around your blog from my new iphone 3gs! Just wanted to say I love reading your blog and look forward to all your

    posts! Carry on the fantastic work!

  7. Do you mind if I quote a few of your posts as long
    as I provide credit and sources back to your

    site? My website is in the very same area of interest

    as yours and my users would truly benefit from some of

    the information you provide here. Please let me know if this
    ok with you. Many thanks!

  8. Its like you read my thoughts! You seem to understand so much approximately this, like you wrote the
    ebook in it or something. I feel that you just can
    do with a few percent to pressure the message home a little bit, however instead of
    that, this is wonderful blog. A fantastic read. I’ll certainly be back.

  9. Woah! I’m really enjoying the template/theme of this site.
    It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s difficult to
    get that “perfect balance” between superb usability and
    visual appeal. I must say you have done a superb job with this.
    In addition, the blog loads super fast for me on Chrome.
    Exceptional Blog!

  10. Now I am going away to do my breakfast, once having
    my breakfast coming again to read further news.

Leave a Reply

